The physicians in the Division of Rheumatology at the Division of Rheumatology are internationally renowned rheumatologists, widely published researchers and respected educators.


Ali D. Askari, MD, is Chief of the Division of Rheumatology, Professor, Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine and Director of the Fellowship Program. Dr. Askari founded the division’s Sjögren’s Syndrome Center to improve treatment, build awareness and increase clinical research for future treatments. With a special interest in the treatment of muscle diseases, Dr. Askari published the landmark study on steroid-induced myopathy in 1976; the landmark study on cardiac involvement in polymyositis and dermatomyositis; and later a study on phosphofructokinase, a metabolic myopathy. He also pioneered the innovative treatment of relapsing polychondritis with colchicines. He is President of the National Sjögren’s Syndrome Association and a founding fellow of the American College of Rheumatology.

David Blumenthal, MD, Assistant Professor, Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine, is an outstanding clinician and educator certified in internal medicine and rheumatology. He is a leader in the education of the fellows at Louis Stokes Cleveland VA Medical Center, drawing from his vast experience at a number of leading medical institutions. Dr. Blumenthal is presently a consultant to the Food and Drug Administration’s Arthritis Advisory Committee.

Roland Moskowitz, MD, a world-renowned authority and researcher in osteoarthritis, directs the Rheumatology Clinical Research Unit and is the division’s previous chief. In 1991,
Dr. Moskowitz described the first genetic defect as a cause of familial osteoarthritis. Over the past decade he has been involved in the development of models for investigation of osteoarthritis, which are used by many investigators to demonstrate the efficacy of various therapies in the disease’s treatment. A Clinical Professor at Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine, Dr. Moskowitz received the highest level of honor from the American College of Rheumatology, the President’s Gold Medal.

Mathilde Pioro, MD, Assistant Professor, Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine, is director of the rheumatology section at the Louis Stokes Cleveland VA Medical Center and is a superb educator and physician with a rich background of experience at both the Cleveland Clinic Foundation and McGill University, where she was a lecturer for many years. Dr. Pioro is certified in internal medicine and the subspecialty of rheumatology. She was a fellow in the Royal College of Physicians in Canada.

Terry M. Wolpaw, MD, MHPE, is a Rheumatologist and the Associate Dean for curricular affairs at Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine. A recognized national leader in medical education, she chairs the American College of Rheumatology’s Continuing Assessment, Review and Evaluation subcommittee and received one of the first American College of Rheumatology Clinician Scholar Educator Awards. She serves annually as one of the faculty for the Harvard Macy Institute for Health Science Educators. Dr. Wolpaw is among the core faculty who are leading a major curriculum transformation at the medical school, focused on interactive, small-group instruction that helps students develop skills for lifelong learning, scholarship, clinical mastery and civic professionalism. She has developed the SNAPPS technique, a method for case presentations in the outpatient setting that facilitates the learner’s articulation of clinical reasoning and revealing of uncertainties. The SNAPPS technique, now validated, is gaining interest nationally and internationally as an important learning and teaching tool.